China extends visa-free entry policy to six additional European countries.

On March 7, 2024, China’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs announced that China will expand its 15-day visa-free entry policy to six additional European countries. These countries include Switzerland, Ireland, Hungary, Austria, Belgium, and Luxembourg.

The trial period: From March 14th 2024 to November 30th 2024. Applicable to: Holders of ordinary passports.

Purpose of visit: Business, tourism, visiting relatives and friends and transit.

On November 24, 2023, China announced that its 15-day visa-free travel policy was expanded to five European countries and Malaysia.

During the period from December 1, 2023, to November 30, 2024, ordinary passport holders from France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, and Malaysia may enter China visa-free for business, tourism, visiting relatives and friends, and transit for no more than 15 days.

From 1 December 2023, Malaysia implements visa-free entry measures for Chinese citizens and others who stay for up to 30 days.

Up to now, China has unilaterally opened its borders to citizens of 12 countries, 11 of them are European countries.

List of Foreign Countries – China opens unilateral visa-exemption treatment

CountryEffective Date
Expiration Date
Duration of
Brunei2023.7.26NONE15 Days
France2023.12.12024.11.3015 Days
Italy2023.12.12024.11.3015 Days
Germany2023.12.12024.11.3015 Days
Netherlands2023.12.12024.11.3015 Days
Spain2023.12.12024.11.3015 Days
Switzerland2024.3.142024.11.3015 Days
Ireland2024.3.142024.11.3015 Days
Hungary2024.3.142024.11.3015 Days
Austria2024.3.142024.11.3015 Days
Belgium2024.3.142024.11.3015 Days
Luxembourg2024.3.142024.11.3015 Days